+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Anyone know who 2go5.net is??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    380

    Default Anyone know who 2go5.net is??

    I keep getting incoming links from other blogs that look like automated linking machines.

    Here's the latest.

    This blog has a ton of blog entries that are just excerpts from other blogs. The really weird thing is that they use different names to link to my blog pages. On the link above, I've turned into Richard Bolen. On another one, I'm Cyndee Hayden.

    Out of curiosity, does anyone know why someone would build a blog like this? Would Richard Bolen (whoever he is) benefit from having his name used as anchor text to a web page that has nothing to do with him??

    More importantly, do you think I should block this type of a link?

    Thanks for any ideas.

    Kathleen

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Cedar
    Posts
    726

    Default Re: Anyone know who 2go5.net is??

    That blog was put together for ad sense revenue. Using "scraper" bots it goes and finds articles then does some slight alterations and posts them.

    I am willing to bet, that Richard Bolen and Cyndee Hayden are real estate agents who have had there articles scraped as well.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    380

    Default Re: Anyone know who 2go5.net is??

    Thanks, Tyler!

    I can't believe that someone would land on that site, see what a mess it is, then decide to click on a few ads to give the owner some ad sense revenue, but there's no accounting for people!

    Would you suggest removing those incoming links? Can't imagine those links would help my SEO, but could they hurt??

    Kathleen

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Cedar
    Posts
    726

    Default Re: Anyone know who 2go5.net is??

    Unfortunately there is not a whole lot can be done about it, unless you find who owns the domain and contact them (this is very unlikely, as they tend to keep it private/hidden contact information) and ask them to remove it or serve them with a DCMA (as I believe your article came from your blog correct?).

    Would it hurt your SEO? In the grand scheme of things no, unless it starts becoming a problem and is spread out over many sites.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts