+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: What kind of a link is this?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    380

    Default What kind of a link is this?

    Hi,

    I ran a spider simulator on a site that wants to exchange links. Here are the types of links it found:


    sid=589650924&url=http://www.rheimsjewelry.com&action=go&id=14051
    ../../action.php?


    I usually stay away from any link that isn't just the site address, but I'm wondering if this is a dynamic link that would 1) give credit to my site for the link, and 2) not do some 302 redirect, etc.

    The source code also has a line that says:

    <META http-equiv="Pragma" content="no-cache">

    Anyone have any ideas on either of those??

    Thanks,

    Kathleen

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    26

    Default Re: What kind of a link is this?

    Quote Originally Posted by KSA
    The source code also has a line that says:

    <META http-equiv="Pragma" content="no-cache">
    This tag just instructs the client browser to not cache the page because it will be frequently updated. This is usually included on dynamic pages such as blogs or something that will change often.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    380

    Default Re: What kind of a link is this?

    Thanks, FocusAgent. But, to be effective, link pages should be cached, shouldn't they?

    Does anyone recognize the link format??

    Please, help!

    Kathleen

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    california
    Posts
    44

    Default Re: What kind of a link is this?

    They're hiding your link so do not link to them. Tell them when they want to make your link static and actually give as much benefit as they will get from your site they can reask for the link

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    4,846

    Default Re: What kind of a link is this?

    Quote Originally Posted by KSA
    Does anyone recognize the link format??
    Hello Kathleen. That is a "tracking script". Nothing mischievous about it however it is in the form of a 302 server redirect.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    380

    Default Re: What kind of a link is this?

    Thanks guys - Hi Jeff--

    I'll have to review all my links. I keep seeing a bunch of 302 redirects in my site stats, so that's probably coming from someone I linked to?!?

    By the way, does anyone know why I'm not getting e-mails when someone adds to this thread? The system says that I'm receiving Instant Email Notification, but I'm not actually receiving them.

    Thanks again!

    Kathleen
    Last edited by KSA; 07-14-2005 at 09:33 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area -East Bay
    Posts
    1,016

    Default Re: What kind of a link is this?

    Quote Originally Posted by KSA
    Thanks guys - Hi Jeff--

    I'll have to review all my links. I keep seeing a bunch of 302 redirects in my site stats, so that's probably coming from someone I linked to?!?

    By the way, does anyone know why I'm not getting e-mails when someone adds to this thread? The system says that I'm receiving Instant Email Notification, but I'm not actually receiving them.

    Kathleen

    Crap ..I did a link verification...found about 20 people who deleted my
    link to me..so I had to terminate my link back to them.

    also found someone in Arizona who had all his exchange link that links
    back to his Website...forgot his url address ;-(
    Looking for Bay Area Real Estate or are you searching for Foreclosures visit my sites. Coming to CA and like to know Things to do in California.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    4,846

    Default Re: What kind of a link is this?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jnazareno
    ...also found someone in Arizona who had all his exchange link that links back to his Website...forgot his url address ;-(
    Arizona? That's my neck of the woods. What was the problem?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area -East Bay
    Posts
    1,016

    Unhappy Re: What kind of a link is this?

    Well while checking all my links with all my partners (link program and manually)
    I found a website in AZ that had all outbound link going to his site, not to the
    website owners site...
    Looking for Bay Area Real Estate or are you searching for Foreclosures visit my sites. Coming to CA and like to know Things to do in California.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    4,846

    Default Re: What kind of a link is this?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jnazareno
    Well while checking all my links with all my partners (link program and manually)
    I found a website in AZ that had all outbound link going to his site, not to the
    website owners site...
    Yikes!

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts