+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Does anyone know why "drug" and "porn" sites would want to link to my blog?

  1. #1

    Default Does anyone know why "drug" and "porn" sites would want to link to my blog?

    Not sure if this is the right place to post this? When running Google's Webmaster tools I noticed that when checking what Googlebot sees, in external links to your site it has phrases such as "Jenna Jameson Naked", "Percocet Use", etc. It's kind of funny but probably doesn't help my Google rankings.

    Turns out a few blogs and websites are linking to posts on my blog at http://www.utahskiproperties.com/blog/ One site doing it is this one (spammy url removed). If you look towards the middle of the page right above the ads by Google box there are about 5 tiny blue links that you can't even read and one is the link to my blog. When you rollover the links I noticed my website in the status bar in Internet Explorer, it was the only way to see it was my site.

    Does anyone know why they would want to do this or has anyone else seen this before? Just thought I would throw it out there.

    Thanks,
    JR
    Last edited by REW Tyler; 03-11-2009 at 08:52 AM. Reason: removed spammy url

  2. #2
    NealRM's Avatar
    NealRM is offline Uber Real Estate Webmaster nmcguire's Most Recent Blog Entry: An Introduction NealRM is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    SE Missouri
    Posts
    777

    Default Re: Does anyone know why "drug" and "porn" sites would want to link to my blog?

    The page appears to be a scrapper site. It goes out and grabs random bits from other sites and random links. I don't know why they would grab links but they do. I suspect it is a from of harvesting content.
    Neal M
    Jackson MO Real Estate, Festus MO Real Estate, Cape Girardeau Real Estate
    HouseViewOnline, HouseView is southeast Missouri’s leading site for touring real estate online. See 100’s of properties from Cape Girardeau, Jackson, Perryville & Sikeston Missouri. Properties are displayed in photos taken by our professional photographer. We are proud to work with Realtors and real estate agents through out SE Missouri.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Does anyone know why "drug" and "porn" sites would want to link to my blog?

    Hi Neal,

    Thanks for getting back to me on this. These guys are driving me crazy.

    JR

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Halifax Nova Scotia
    Posts
    366

    Default Re: Does anyone know why "drug" and "porn" sites would want to link to my blog?

    It's probably your competition trying to get you blacklisted. Hopefully not but there is always a chance...
    Exit Realty is a leading residential Real Estate company that sells Halifax Real Estate and is a part of Exit Realty Nova Scotia.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    261

    Default Re: Does anyone know why "drug" and "porn" sites would want to link to my blog?

    Quote Originally Posted by scottiegrace View Post
    It's probably your competition trying to get you blacklisted. Hopefully not but there is always a chance...
    Sometimes a scraper site can take over your position in the serps.

    I wouldn't worry about who links to me. As long as you build a lot of good backlinks it doesn't have any effect.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: Does anyone know why "drug" and "porn" sites would want to link to my blog?

    Generally those sites have a program that will search the net in search of high prs or sites that have alot of attention because of quality and try to attach themselves to it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,669

    Default Re: Does anyone know why "drug" and "porn" sites would want to link to my blog?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jason Racicot Park City View Post
    Does anyone know why "drug" and "porn" sites would want to link to my blog?
    They know a pimp when they see one. *



    * Disclaimer: sorry, just couldn't resist.
    OverlyReal.com - The best little real estate directory on the planet!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    261

    Default Re: Does anyone know why "drug" and "porn" sites would want to link to my blog?

    Quote Originally Posted by andyReloans View Post
    Generally those sites have a program that will search the net in search of high prs or sites that have alot of attention because of quality and try to attach themselves to it.
    Not so much as high pr sites but sites that they may be able to out rank by scraping the content.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Does anyone know why "drug" and "porn" sites would want to link to my blog?

    Thanks for your thoughts. lol VRI.
    JR
    Summit | Sotheby's International Realty
    Park City, UT

    Park City Real Estate | Deer Valley Real Estate | The Canyons Real Estate

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    54

    Default Re: Does anyone know why "drug" and "porn" sites would want to link to my blog?

    Quote Originally Posted by scottiegrace View Post
    It's probably your competition trying to get you blacklisted. Hopefully not but there is always a chance...
    If that's the case, it's a dirty trick.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts