+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 28 of 28

Thread: HELP! SPAM being sent w/ my email address

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    western North Carolina
    Posts
    2,355

    Default Re: HELP! SPAM being sent w/ my email address

    putting persons in the infectee's address book as the sender, helping propagate the virus

    As does using CC: to maintain a mailing list of friends or associates, when using BC: would produce the same distribution without publicizing everyone's email address.


    1stPageSEO.com . Reverse Mortgage Lenders . Lake James Waterfront Home
    Contact us for fast, efficient and cost-effective web design, content
    creation, search engine optimization, blog design and maintenance.


  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Calgary,Canada
    Posts
    777

    Default Re: HELP! SPAM being sent w/ my email address

    The spam email about the Real Estate newletter from "xxx@drbill21.com" has been making the rounds for about the past 2 or 3 weeks, but only to American Realtors. What's common about the spam email is that it comes addressed with a middle initial, something most agents don't include on their websites / contact info.

    It appears the NAR database has been scraped, and the names / email addresses on file there are the ones beng used by "DrBill".

    This is simply spam email to harvest live email addresses - if you replied your name will be added to the spammers dbase. I also found an almost identical email (same reply address) was circulated in Feb '05 to Doctors & Dentists.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Fredericksburg, Virginia
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: HELP! SPAM being sent w/ my email address

    Great information. I find it curious that the virus targeted my RE/MAX email address which I have since stopped using and also had my middle initial - as you said. What a racket! Thanks for the information.
    Irene Morales Ward, Realtor
    Northern Virginia Real Estate
    RE/MAX Absolute

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Calgary,Canada
    Posts
    777

    Default Re: HELP! SPAM being sent w/ my email address

    Quote Originally Posted by Irene M Ward
    Great information. I find it curious that the virus targeted my RE/MAX email address which I have since stopped using and also had my middle initial - as you said. What a racket! Thanks for the information.
    Irene -

    Being from Canada, I've not received the "DrBill" email, however it's my understanding that it DOES NOT contain a virus (payload). The intent of the email is simply to harvest replies from "live ones".

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Orange Beach, AL
    Posts
    2,359

    Default Re: HELP! SPAM being sent w/ my email address

    Quote Originally Posted by Calgary Realtor
    The spam email about the Real Estate newletter from "xxx@drbill21.com" has been making the rounds for about the past 2 or 3 weeks, but only to American Realtors. What's common about the spam email is that it comes addressed with a middle initial, something most agents don't include on their websites / contact info.

    It appears the NAR database has been scraped, and the names / email addresses on file there are the ones beng used by "DrBill".

    This is simply spam email to harvest live email addresses - if you replied your name will be added to the spammers dbase. I also found an almost identical email (same reply address) was circulated in Feb '05 to Doctors & Dentists.
    Good observation Calgary,

    After I read your post, I noticed one of my newest e-mails is addressed with my initial. I would have never entered this anywhere. Guess where the e-mail was from - NetReal Newsletter - www dot netreal dot net . An interesting coincidence. Anybody else respond to "drbill" that is receving this newsletter with their initial used in their name?
    Cal
    Gulf Shores Real Estate | Lake Lanier Real Estate | Madison MS Real Estate

    The Gulfshoreslife.com Team of Keller Williams Alabama Gulf Coast serves the Baldwin County Alabama Real Estate market from The Eastern Shore of Mobile Bay to the Southern Shores of the Alabama Gulf Coast: Orange Beach, Gulf Shores, Fort Morgan, Point Clear, Fairhope, Montrose, Daphne, Spanish Fort, AL. For more information on AL Gulf Coast Real Estate, please contact me or visit our website.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: HELP! SPAM being sent w/ my email address

    I got it too, about a week ago. Somebody must be pulling realtor names and contact info from a NAR or other source. They're building a spam mass email list. By accusing YOU of being the spammer, you reply that you're NOT. What they're really after is the response, any response, to know that its a good email address. Mark it as spam.
    Mike Gallego
    Provantage Realty
    Buy a Home. Get Paid.

    Modesto Real Estate

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Orange Beach, AL
    Posts
    2,359

    Default Re: HELP! SPAM being sent w/ my email address

    An e-mail I got today from drbill @ zichronmail.com
    To download your free list of Realtors in Zip Code 30501, click here:

    www . real-estate-agent-lists . com/sample.asp?e=955E922DDDFCA070

    IMPORT INTO OUTLOOK... PRINT MAILING LABELS... SEND EMAILS.

    How great would it be to have a list of real estate agents in Gainesville, Hall County, or even the whole state of Georgia loaded in your contact manager (e.g. Outlook or ACT!) so that you could look up any agent right from your desktop?

    How cool would it be to quickly print out mailing labels or fire off emails to your professional colleagues?

    COMPREHENSIVE, CURRENT, ACCURATE NATIONAL REALTOR DATABASE

    real-estate-agent-lists.com has collected a comprehensive national database of real estate agents, including those in Georgia, Hall county, or Gainesville, where you work.

    Through this special email offer, you can download a FREE list of the agents in your zip code 30501.

    Your FREE zip code list has a value ranging from $35 to $122 (depending on the number of agents in your zip code).

    WAIT.. THERE'S MORE.... 20% DISCOUNT THROUGH THIS EMAIL

    Why would I give away FREE data? Simple. I understand why you might be skeptical about buying lists on the internet. But I am so confident you will be impressed with the accuracy and comprehensiveness of our lists, you will be SERIOUSLY tempted to buy my lists. They are NOT that expensive and, because you are a Realtor, I am also offering an additional 20% discount.

    Again, to download your free list of Realtors in Zip Code 30501, click here:

    www . real-estate-agent-lists . com/sample.asp?e=955E922DDDFCA070

    Thank you for taking the time to check us out.

    Bill Bailey, PhD
    real-estate-agent-lists.com
    a Service of Zichron Internet Marketing
    15105-D John J Delaney Drive
    Charlotte, NC 28277
    877-485-5044
    Cal
    Gulf Shores Real Estate | Lake Lanier Real Estate | Madison MS Real Estate

    The Gulfshoreslife.com Team of Keller Williams Alabama Gulf Coast serves the Baldwin County Alabama Real Estate market from The Eastern Shore of Mobile Bay to the Southern Shores of the Alabama Gulf Coast: Orange Beach, Gulf Shores, Fort Morgan, Point Clear, Fairhope, Montrose, Daphne, Spanish Fort, AL. For more information on AL Gulf Coast Real Estate, please contact me or visit our website.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Raleigh NC
    Posts
    59

    Default Re: HELP! SPAM being sent w/ my email address

    I got the same email (only for my zip code) from 'drbill.' At the top of my email he makes this statement:

    ________________________________________
    This email has been sent in compliance with all spam laws. If you do not wish to receive future emails from me, I don't want to send them to you! Simply click on the link below or at the bottom of this email to permanently remove your email from my list and you will never hear from me again:
    _________________________________________


    I have not included his link that would supposedly remove me from his list, nor am I willing to trust that he would remove me if I did click on it.
    YourRaleigh Sponsor
    Raleigh NC Real Estate
    Visit yourraleigh.com for all of your real estate needs

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts