Real Estate Forums

Real Estate and Google By far the leader of the Search Engine Pack, a real estate site ranking at the top of Google, is an amazingly powerful lead generation tool. Discuss how to rank your real estate site in Google HERE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2006, 08:23 AM
thataway61's Avatar
thataway61 thataway61 is offline
Uber Real Estate Webmaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Orange Beach, AL
Posts: 1,446
thataway61 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to thataway61
Default Does anybody understand what this is?

Found our site on here after doing a links: search on G -
http://research.microsoft.com/URLTracer/SC.htm

Puzzled, I go up a directory to -
http://research.microsoft.com/URLTracer

Apparently the software in the parent directory is from Microsoft Research Department and traces URL's looking for typo spammers. What I don't understand is whether being in the list means we are suspected of typo spam (which we definitely don't do) or the victims.

I tried running the Tracer program and saw nothing unusual for our site, but saw a pretty scary menu selection (block site) that made me close the program.

After a little reading it appears that blogger accounts may be the source but I am not sure. If anyone understands what being on this list means, please explain.
__________________
Cal
Orange Beach Condos | Gulf Shores Condos | Keller Williams Gulf States

The Gulfshoreslife.com Team serves the Baldwin County Alabama Real Estate market from The Eastern Shore of Mobile Bay to the Southern Shores of the Alabama Gulf Coast: Orange Beach, Gulf Shores, Fort Morgan, Point Clear, Fairhope, Montrose, Daphne, Spanish Fort, AL. Referals are welcomed. For more information on AL Gulf Coast Real Estate, please contact me or visit our website.

Sarasota Association of Realtors
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2006, 09:00 AM
thataway61's Avatar
thataway61 thataway61 is offline
Uber Real Estate Webmaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Orange Beach, AL
Posts: 1,446
thataway61 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to thataway61
Default Re: Does anybody understand what this is?

Finally found a link from URL Tracer page to the SC.htm. Appears that it is related to Statcounter.

The text below is from the URLTracer page:
World of Beacons: I don't really think there is any problem. I think by virtue of having Statcounter script we were put on the page. One of you curious types might confirm my thoughts.

Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by thataway61
Found our site on here after doing a links: search on G -
http://research.microsoft.com/URLTracer/SC.htm

Puzzled, I go up a directory to -
http://research.microsoft.com/URLTracer

Apparently the software in the parent directory is from Microsoft Research Department and traces URL's looking for typo spammers. What I don't understand is whether being in the list means we are suspected of typo spam (which we definitely don't do) or the victims.

I tried running the Tracer program and saw nothing unusual for our site, but saw a pretty scary menu selection (block site) that made me close the program.

After a little reading it appears that blogger accounts may be the source but I am not sure. If anyone understands what being on this list means, please explain.
__________________
Cal
Orange Beach Condos | Gulf Shores Condos | Keller Williams Gulf States

The Gulfshoreslife.com Team serves the Baldwin County Alabama Real Estate market from The Eastern Shore of Mobile Bay to the Southern Shores of the Alabama Gulf Coast: Orange Beach, Gulf Shores, Fort Morgan, Point Clear, Fairhope, Montrose, Daphne, Spanish Fort, AL. Referals are welcomed. For more information on AL Gulf Coast Real Estate, please contact me or visit our website.

Sarasota Association of Realtors
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

For our members

Main Sections

IDX Coverage Areas

Spiders Welcome

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.