Real Estate Forums
| Other Search Engines Altavista, Alltheweb, Teoma and many other search properties exist on the internet, although nowhere near the search volume of the big 3. Discuss any other search engines here. |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
||||
|
Some months back I noticed that a relativley new client site was recieving daily referals from www.com. At first I didn't take time to investigate but eventually did and found it to be a search engine. Today this site may get 20-30 referals/day fom this engine.
Oddly enough I now see referals from this engine on other relativley new websites but to my knowledge don't get any referals on any of our older sites? Anyone else getting referals from this engine?
__________________
|
|
||||
|
Well, today we had 29 referals on one site, 23 on another and 4 on the newest.
__________________
|
|
||||
|
Just looked at the site, not very good. Most be a local thing? Maybe a local ISP is using them for search results or they advertise in a certain market. Never had a visitor from them.
__________________
The Suburban House Hunters Team would like to thank REW members for past referrals! We are never to busy to handle your Chicago area referrals. Always looking for quality unique content for our real estate agent blog, PM me if interested in writing a post. |
|
||||
|
Check out a site search at Google - http://www.google.com/search?q=site:...&start=60&sa=N
Looks like they've got a bunch of spam generated sub-domains and pages, they probably re-list search results and that's where it's coming from. |
|
||||
|
Randfish:
What do you mean "they probably re-list search results"?
__________________
|
|
||||
|
A lot of spam sites simply list the results of a search at Google/Yahoo!/etc in their own format - it's a cheap way to get free content. They often re-order the results or add their own ads or Adwords, etc.
There are millions of pages out there like this, so any search should turn up more than a few. The recent article I wrote and posted about (commercial real estate financing searches) identifies several by URL. I'd prefer not to point them out on the forum, as many people often take offense if it's their spam you're exposing. |
|
||||
|
hmmmm all the subs I saw on there were porn, not a good candidate for any serious attention IMO
__________________
Webmasters who spend their energies upholding the spirit of the basic principles [Of Google] will provide a much better user experience and subsequently enjoy better ranking than those who spend their time looking for loopholes they can exploit. Google.com |
|
||||
|
I agree many of the sub domains are porn. At the same time it seems to function as an actual search engine. While we continue to see sessions originating for this engine(?) they apparently aren't passing the search terms, if any.
__________________
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|