Real Estate Forums

Real Estate Chat Discuss general issues in the world of real estate. Trends in the industry, which franchise to join, recent real estate news. New Realtors, learn from seasoned agents and brokers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2008, 10:47 AM
KSA KSA is offline
Real Estate Web Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 363
KSA is on a distinguished road
Default Anyone know who 2go5.net is??

I keep getting incoming links from other blogs that look like automated linking machines.

Here's the latest.

This blog has a ton of blog entries that are just excerpts from other blogs. The really weird thing is that they use different names to link to my blog pages. On the link above, I've turned into Richard Bolen. On another one, I'm Cyndee Hayden.

Out of curiosity, does anyone know why someone would build a blog like this? Would Richard Bolen (whoever he is) benefit from having his name used as anchor text to a web page that has nothing to do with him??

More importantly, do you think I should block this type of a link?

Thanks for any ideas.

Kathleen
__________________
Kathleen Allardyce
Visit our BRER Real Estate Marketing Blog
Real Estate Marketing
Point 2 Agent Partner
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 01:20 PM
REW Tyler's Avatar
REW Tyler REW Tyler is offline
Real Estate Webmasters Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cedar
Posts: 352
REW Tyler is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to REW Tyler
Default Re: Anyone know who 2go5.net is??

That blog was put together for ad sense revenue. Using "scraper" bots it goes and finds articles then does some slight alterations and posts them.

I am willing to bet, that Richard Bolen and Cyndee Hayden are real estate agents who have had there articles scraped as well.
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 01:30 PM
KSA KSA is offline
Real Estate Web Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 363
KSA is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Anyone know who 2go5.net is??

Thanks, Tyler!

I can't believe that someone would land on that site, see what a mess it is, then decide to click on a few ads to give the owner some ad sense revenue, but there's no accounting for people!

Would you suggest removing those incoming links? Can't imagine those links would help my SEO, but could they hurt??

Kathleen
__________________
Kathleen Allardyce
Visit our BRER Real Estate Marketing Blog
Real Estate Marketing
Point 2 Agent Partner
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 04:35 PM
REW Tyler's Avatar
REW Tyler REW Tyler is offline
Real Estate Webmasters Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cedar
Posts: 352
REW Tyler is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to REW Tyler
Default Re: Anyone know who 2go5.net is??

Unfortunately there is not a whole lot can be done about it, unless you find who owns the domain and contact them (this is very unlikely, as they tend to keep it private/hidden contact information) and ask them to remove it or serve them with a DCMA (as I believe your article came from your blog correct?).

Would it hurt your SEO? In the grand scheme of things no, unless it starts becoming a problem and is spread out over many sites.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

For our members

Main Sections

IDX Coverage Areas

Spiders Welcome

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.