Real Estate Forums

Webmasters Toolkit What tools do you use for working with search engines and tracking your results?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2005, 06:22 PM
kyle422's Avatar
kyle422 kyle422 is offline
Real Estate Webmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,109
kyle422 is on a distinguished road
Default 302 Hijackers

I did a search to check if I've been Hijacked and found out I was. Luckily the hijackers page has been de-indexed. I emailed the webmaster and asked him to remove my link. I'm waiting to hear back from him or her. It may be a mistake and he may not be aware of it. Anyhow, if you want to check if you've JACKED, here's how.
allinurl:yoursite .com
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 08:03 PM
JimJ JimJ is offline
Uber Real Estate Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 522
JimJ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 302 Hijackers

What do you mean by "highjacked" Kyle?
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 08:34 PM
Salt River Media Salt River Media is offline
banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 388
Salt River Media is on a distinguished road
Angry Re: 302 Hijackers

I found another website that has a list of real estate agents by city and state that are using 302 redirects.

You might want to check and see if you are in their directory.

This site showed up in my allinurl search.

www worldweb com
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 08:36 PM
kyle422's Avatar
kyle422 kyle422 is offline
Real Estate Webmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,109
kyle422 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 302 Hijackers

Certain directories send spiders out that collect links in link pages or other directories. The evil directory puts the links the spider finds on it's site using 302 redirects. What happens is a 302 says 'this page has temporarily moved to the location Im pointing to so go to that location to get this page' so google bot makes a cache of your homepage (or whatever page the redirect points to) and assigns it to the page holding the redirect. Now you have 2 cached pages exactly the same. Sometimes the real homepage gets penalized because it is the 'temporary' URL that the 302 is pointing at.
My rankings in G00gle have been hurt substantially from redirects. So do the allinurl:your site .com see if you've been hijacked! I've read that if you are above PR 5 site you are usually safe. Also if you use your full URL in all of your internal links, it helps prevent 302's. Example <a href="http://www.YOURSITE.com/MLSSEARCH.html"/>

Last edited by kyle422 : 04-18-2005 at 08:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 08:42 PM
kyle422's Avatar
kyle422 kyle422 is offline
Real Estate Webmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,109
kyle422 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 302 Hijackers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salt River Media
I found another website that has a list of real estate agents by city and state that are using 302 redirects.

You might want to check and see if you are in their directory.

This site showed up in my allinurl search.

www worldweb com
Yes, you have to watch out how those links look in the bottom left corner of your browser when you mouse over them. Don't link to them if they show anything else but your URL. Also check their source code to see if they use Javascript. But the worst is 302 redirects. An example would like http://www.google.com/url?sa=U&start...l%3Dhttp://www.MySite.com%252F&e=9888

Last edited by kyle422 : 04-18-2005 at 08:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 08:53 PM
kyle422's Avatar
kyle422 kyle422 is offline
Real Estate Webmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,109
kyle422 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 302 Hijackers

Jim, I checked you sites. All your sites are fine. Lucky dog

Last edited by kyle422 : 04-18-2005 at 08:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 09:55 PM
judyo's Avatar
judyo judyo is offline
Moderator
Recently blogged:
Referral Networks
at my REW Blog. Claim your blog
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oak Lawn, IL
Posts: 3,008
judyo will become famous soon enough
Default Re: 302 Hijackers

What was the deal with Total Real Estate Solutions? Seems like the only weird url is from them & their other site owners. Looks like I have two listings with them although I could only fine one live one. I don't have their link on my site anymore, haven't had it for quite some time. If it's a bad thing I'll have to request to be removed because I couldn't do it myself (I just want to be sure first).
__________________
Southwest Chicago Suburbs Real Estate is an affordable area with close access to downtown Chicago. Money Magazine says that Orland Park real estate is one of the best places to live in the U.S.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

REW Conference

For our members

Main Sections

IDX Coverage Areas

Spiders Welcome

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.