Real Estate Forums

Linking Strategies Discuss effective strategies for increasing links to your real estate websites

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-29-2005, 05:33 AM
KSA KSA is offline
Real Estate Web Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 363
KSA is on a distinguished road
Default What kind of a link is this?

Hi,

I ran a spider simulator on a site that wants to exchange links. Here are the types of links it found:


sid=589650924&url=http://www.rheimsjewelry.com&action=go&id=14051
../../action.php?


I usually stay away from any link that isn't just the site address, but I'm wondering if this is a dynamic link that would 1) give credit to my site for the link, and 2) not do some 302 redirect, etc.

The source code also has a line that says:

<META http-equiv="Pragma" content="no-cache">

Anyone have any ideas on either of those??

Thanks,

Kathleen
__________________
Kathleen Allardyce
Visit our BRER Real Estate Marketing Blog
Real Estate Marketing
Point 2 Agent Partner
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2005, 11:27 PM
focusagent's Avatar
focusagent focusagent is offline
New real estate webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Arizona
Posts: 26
focusagent is on a distinguished road
Default Re: What kind of a link is this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KSA
The source code also has a line that says:

<META http-equiv="Pragma" content="no-cache">
This tag just instructs the client browser to not cache the page because it will be frequently updated. This is usually included on dynamic pages such as blogs or something that will change often.
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2005, 10:37 PM
KSA KSA is offline
Real Estate Web Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 363
KSA is on a distinguished road
Default Re: What kind of a link is this?

Thanks, FocusAgent. But, to be effective, link pages should be cached, shouldn't they?

Does anyone recognize the link format??

Please, help!

Kathleen
__________________
Kathleen Allardyce
Visit our BRER Real Estate Marketing Blog
Real Estate Marketing
Point 2 Agent Partner
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2005, 06:43 PM
jstcrzyengh jstcrzyengh is offline
banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: california
Posts: 44
jstcrzyengh is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to jstcrzyengh Send a message via Yahoo to jstcrzyengh
Default Re: What kind of a link is this?

They're hiding your link so do not link to them. Tell them when they want to make your link static and actually give as much benefit as they will get from your site they can reask for the link
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2005, 07:54 PM
ResaleBroker's Avatar
ResaleBroker ResaleBroker is offline
Real Estate Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,726
ResaleBroker is on a distinguished road
Default Re: What kind of a link is this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KSA
Does anyone recognize the link format??
Hello Kathleen. That is a "tracking script". Nothing mischievous about it however it is in the form of a 302 server redirect.
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2005, 10:31 PM
KSA KSA is offline
Real Estate Web Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 363
KSA is on a distinguished road
Default Re: What kind of a link is this?

Thanks guys - Hi Jeff--

I'll have to review all my links. I keep seeing a bunch of 302 redirects in my site stats, so that's probably coming from someone I linked to?!?

By the way, does anyone know why I'm not getting e-mails when someone adds to this thread? The system says that I'm receiving Instant Email Notification, but I'm not actually receiving them.

Thanks again!

Kathleen
__________________
Kathleen Allardyce
Visit our BRER Real Estate Marketing Blog
Real Estate Marketing
Point 2 Agent Partner

Last edited by KSA; 07-14-2005 at 10:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2005, 11:42 PM
Jnazareno's Avatar
Jnazareno Jnazareno is offline
Advanced Webmaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco Bay Area -East Bay
Posts: 991
Jnazareno is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Jnazareno
Default Re: What kind of a link is this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KSA
Thanks guys - Hi Jeff--

I'll have to review all my links. I keep seeing a bunch of 302 redirects in my site stats, so that's probably coming from someone I linked to?!?

By the way, does anyone know why I'm not getting e-mails when someone adds to this thread? The system says that I'm receiving Instant Email Notification, but I'm not actually receiving them.

Kathleen

Crap ..I did a link verification...found about 20 people who deleted my
link to me..so I had to terminate my link back to them.

also found someone in Arizona who had all his exchange link that links
back to his Website...forgot his url address ;-(
__________________
Bay Area Real Estate | Free MLS. Coming to CA and like to know Things to do in California.
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2005, 12:04 AM
ResaleBroker's Avatar
ResaleBroker ResaleBroker is offline
Real Estate Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,726
ResaleBroker is on a distinguished road
Default Re: What kind of a link is this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jnazareno
...also found someone in Arizona who had all his exchange link that links back to his Website...forgot his url address ;-(
Arizona? That's my neck of the woods. What was the problem?
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2005, 12:43 AM
Jnazareno's Avatar
Jnazareno Jnazareno is offline
Advanced Webmaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco Bay Area -East Bay
Posts: 991
Jnazareno is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Jnazareno
Unhappy Re: What kind of a link is this?

Well while checking all my links with all my partners (link program and manually)
I found a website in AZ that had all outbound link going to his site, not to the
website owners site...
__________________
Bay Area Real Estate | Free MLS. Coming to CA and like to know Things to do in California.
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2005, 01:45 AM
ResaleBroker's Avatar
ResaleBroker ResaleBroker is offline
Real Estate Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,726
ResaleBroker is on a distinguished road
Default Re: What kind of a link is this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jnazareno
Well while checking all my links with all my partners (link program and manually)
I found a website in AZ that had all outbound link going to his site, not to the
website owners site...
Yikes!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



For our members

Main Sections

IDX Coverage Areas

Spiders Welcome

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.