Real Estate Forums

Real Estate Chat Discuss general issues in the world of real estate. Trends in the industry, which franchise to join, recent real estate news. New Realtors, learn from seasoned agents and brokers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2005, 07:40 PM
MarkArgentino's Avatar
MarkArgentino MarkArgentino is offline
Advancing Webmaster
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 34
MarkArgentino is on a distinguished road
Default Is cloaking or something deceptive going on here?

I was wondering if someone could help me with identifying if cloaking or something deceptive is going on here.

Another site that is reciprocal linking to my site uses the code:

<a class="." href="http://www.mississauga4sale.com/" target="_blank"><b>Mississauga Real Estate Homes, Properties &amp; MLS Listings for Sale</b>
</a>

does this make the link above java and hence cloaked and not indexed properly by search engines, specifically google?

My reciprocal linking software is saying this is not a valid linkback, do you agree?

I have done some research on this <a class="." href="http://www... etc. but cannot figure out if it is a deceptive link back or not.

Your comments and advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Mark
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2005, 08:06 PM
kyle422's Avatar
kyle422 kyle422 is offline
Real Estate Webmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,130
kyle422 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is cloaking or something deceptive going on here?

Post the url without using a live link. (just don't use the www. and it won't parse the URL as a link)
I would need to look at the CSS of the site.
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 06:25 AM
MarkArgentino's Avatar
MarkArgentino MarkArgentino is offline
Advancing Webmaster
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 34
MarkArgentino is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is cloaking or something deceptive going on here?

I wondered about giving them a linkback in this forum, thanks for the tip.

The url of their link page is:
ezmoving.com/topic_Realestate.html

Your help is greatly appreciated.

It's possible that I am just missing something here or my reciprocal links manager maybe just looks for <a href=" tag and if it's not there, then it assumes that it's a bad link.

Thanks,
Mark
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 08:02 AM
kyle422's Avatar
kyle422 kyle422 is offline
Real Estate Webmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,130
kyle422 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is cloaking or something deceptive going on here?

Although not easily identified by looking at the code, they are using a javascript for outgoing links. You can see it here: http://www.gritechnologies.com/tools...ealestate.html
My opinion, a worthless link to your site.
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 04:01 PM
MarkArgentino's Avatar
MarkArgentino MarkArgentino is offline
Advancing Webmaster
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 34
MarkArgentino is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is cloaking or something deceptive going on here?

Hi Kyle,

Thanks for your thoughts. I looked at the http://www.gritechnologies.com/tool and will have to review it more, looks like all the links are rendered as java or so it says at the top of the page.

Are there any other programs that can check a page and tell me if if the links are java or html?

Thanks again,
Mark
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 09:03 PM
kensmith's Avatar
kensmith kensmith is offline
Uber Real Estate Webmaster
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,735
kensmith is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is cloaking or something deceptive going on here?

Kyle I must be missing something as to how you are saying the site is using JS. I looked at the site/tool you used and all of the JS is added by the tool to make it so the link goes to the "diagnostic view" of that page. That JS has nothing to do with what the site is doing, but with the tool that was used. Am I missing something?

a class="." is just a way to format the text using css and most times is nothing to worry about.
__________________
The Suburban House Hunters Team would like to thank REW members for past referrals! We are never to busy to handle your Chicago area referrals.

Always looking for quality unique content for our real estate agent blog, PM me if interested in writing a post.

My thoughts on the Sarasota Association of REALTORS actions.
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 10:12 AM
kyle422's Avatar
kyle422 kyle422 is offline
Real Estate Webmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,130
kyle422 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is cloaking or something deceptive going on here?

Ken,
Yes you are correct about how Poodle Predictor shows them as javascript links. I was assuming that program worked the same as another spider simulator which no longer works properly. That program showed the links as they were read by a search engine.
Oh well, I'm not perfect.
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 11:12 AM
MarkArgentino's Avatar
MarkArgentino MarkArgentino is offline
Advancing Webmaster
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 34
MarkArgentino is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is cloaking or something deceptive going on here?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkArgentino
I...... bad link.

Thanks,
Mark
I just noticed that I used rolling eyes which means sarcastic, that was not my intent, I thought it was a cool looking grin, but did not notice the 'sarcastic' part until now, sorry,
Mark

see, I just re-edited my response, now I am embarrassed and should use the right smiley

Last edited by MarkArgentino; 12-02-2005 at 11:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 11:14 AM
MarkArgentino's Avatar
MarkArgentino MarkArgentino is offline
Advancing Webmaster
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 34
MarkArgentino is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is cloaking or something deceptive going on here?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kensmithkw

a class="." is just a way to format the text using css and most times is nothing to worry about.
I am wondering if the fact that the links are <a class="." href=... rather than <a href=... class="." that my link checker is picking up a bad link.

I will keep researching this and try and solve this puzzle once and for all.

Thanks,
Mark
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 01:41 PM
kensmith's Avatar
kensmith kensmith is offline
Uber Real Estate Webmaster
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,735
kensmith is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is cloaking or something deceptive going on here?

Your link checker my be having an issue as the links look fine to me. I also did open up the css and it is purely formatting so nothing to worry about.

Kyle, just wanted to make sure that I wasn't missing something. Trust me when I am not perfect either, heck nobody is. The reason I realized it was I quickly ran my site through it and the JS links were there and I know my links are clean.
__________________
The Suburban House Hunters Team would like to thank REW members for past referrals! We are never to busy to handle your Chicago area referrals.

Always looking for quality unique content for our real estate agent blog, PM me if interested in writing a post.

My thoughts on the Sarasota Association of REALTORS actions.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



For our members

Main Sections

IDX Coverage Areas

Spiders Welcome

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.