Managing Agents

REW Alex M posted this - 1,318 Views

Once you have added some agents to the backend of the site, they will be viewable from the Agents tab in the backend. This post will cover the finer details of managing these agents, past the initial creation stage. From the Agents tab, click on the desired agent to gain access to the following tools.

  1. Summary
  2. Edit Agent
  3. Email Agent
  4. Auto-Responder
  5. Notifications
  6. History
  7. Permissions
  8. Deleting an Agent

1. Summary

Here you'll see an overview of the agent's information, their settings and lead metrics. You can quickly email the agent by either clicking the agent's email address from any of the locations on the page, or by clicking the "Email Agent" button in the top-right of the page.

Directly below the agent's name and email address, you'll find some basic lead metrics that show the number of Accepted, Pending, Rejected, Closed and Total Leads associated with the agent. Each link will take you to the lead manager displaying the corresponding list of leads as they relate to the agent.


2. Edit Agent

Similar to adding an agent, the "Edit Agent" page gives access to adjusting information for a particular agent. Once an adjustment is made, be sure to click the Save Changes button at the top-right or bottom of the page.

If you do not wish to continue editing, clicking the Cancel button will take you back to the "Summary" page - discarding any changes you have made. Clicking the Delete button will remove the agent and their information (e.g. history) from the system, leads associated with the agent will be automatically re-assigned to the super admin account.


3. Email Agent

Here you can contact an agent directly through the site. This might be for reminding the agent to review a piece of marketing material, to get in touch with a lead, or to perform a cleanup on their leads.


4. Auto-Responder

Here you can set an auto-responder message that will be sent to a lead when an agent has accepted them (i.e. changed the lead's status from 'pending' to 'accepted'). This will always be sent from the email that is associated with the agent ing their account, and can be set to not send if so desired.

Upon viewing this page you will be provided with the following controls. Fields marked with "*" are mandatory. Once the desired information and settings have been applied, be sure to click the Save Changes

Subject* - This is where you will enter the subject line for the email that will be sent.

Message* - Here you will enter the contents (body) of the email. A "WYSIWYG" has been provided to allow for creating well formatted HTML emails. If in "Plain Text" mode, the "WYSIWYG" will not be visible. You can use "tags" within the email as placeholders which will be replaced by information specific to the lead receiving the auto-responder. In other words, these tags help to personalize the auto-responder. As an example, {first_name} will be replaced with the lead's first name. A list of available tags is shown below the "Message" input field.

CC / BCC - With these links, you can choose to have a copy of the email sent to additional email addresses. Upon clicking either of these links, a corresponding field will be displayed. Note that these fields are intended to have email addresses entered, only, and can contain only a single address.

Active - This controls whether the auto-responder message will be sent (or not) when a lead has been accepted by the agent.

HTML Email - Here you can specify whether the email will be sent as HTML or Plain Text. HTML emails have a number of advantages over Plain Text, such as advanced formatting of text, and the ability to create clickable links. This comes at a cost of size, though, the more formatting, the longer the email will take to transmit. Plain Text emails are "lighter" in size and therefore transfer more quickly, on average. Confused? Most people send HTML emails and don't experience any ill effects. Note that when using "HTML Emails", you increase the likelihood that your email will be caught up in the lead's spam filter.

Template (Optional) - Here you can select the template that will wrap (surround) the body of the auto-responder (the "Message"). Note that this option will only be displayed if at least one template exists in the system and that selecting one of these options disables the ability to choose "HTML" or "Plain Text" Email.


5. Notifications

Using the notification settings, agents can control which notifications that automatic lead manager will send them. Agents have the options to add SMS notifications from the backend when a lead either is assigned, or an inquiry is made. Agents can choose where to send the notifications to by inputting their email address in the Send notifications to box. Using the agent notifications, the agent can choose if they would like to CC, or BCC another email on certain notifications, such as saved search updates, or listing recommendations. Agents will automatically receive saved search notification when an assigned lead saves a search. If the agent would like to no longer receive an email when a lead saves a search, it can be disabled by unchecking the box next to "An assigned lead saves a new search".


6. History

View a history of the agent's activity, when they logged in and out, when they were automatically assigned a lead or viewed a lead, and much more. This page could be used to determine an agent's performance level for the purposes of employee evaluation.


7. Permissions

Here you can control which sections of the site an agent has access to. This granular level of control allows you to create tailored "roles" for each agent by granting access only to the areas the agent is responsible for, such as Leads, Site Management, or Blog Postings. Simply select the areas the agent should have access to and then click the Save Changes button from the top-right or bottom of the page.


8. Deleting an Agent

As companies grow and change, the need to remove an agent from the system may present itself. To remove an agent, click the Edit button associated with the agent from the main list of agents (See Figure 4-3), and then click the Delete button from the top-right of the page. To complete the process, click "OK" in the confirmation window that opens. Once removed, the agent account cannot be recovered through the backend.

Note that all leads associated with the agent's account will be re-assigned to the super admin account. If you have the Agent Subdomains product, the agent's site will no longer be accessible.

Posted In REW Backend 101

Comments

Enjoy this post? Why not share with friends or add a comment of your own?

Share your thoughts…