Why do realtors change brokerages?

Hi Everyone,

I’m a new agent at RE/MAX and I am having a lot of fun! I’m just curious, I see a lot of movement in my market and with my friends on social where agents are moving brokerages. Why do people move and what kind of impact does it have on your business, (pros and cons)?

Carly

For many it is because they think the grass is greener on the other side.

Usually agents change either because they are unhappy with the brokerage fees, or the support offered from the broker.

I believe NAR has some statistics, but in AZ, most agents only stay at their brokerage for around 2 years before making a change.

1 Like

Hi Carly, I am guilty of changing Brokerages a fair amount. What started with maybe the grass was shinier on the other side, turned out to be just the brokerage costs as I felt that the systems and websites I was running didn’t require the extra costs associated with the brokerages I had my license with. At the end of the day the clients that I had, noticed that nothing ever changed on my website to reflect the changing brokerages as where I was focussing my work was on my personal brand which I learned from watching the big US teams across America. Ultimately I think it comes down to what your fees are and what the culture is around your office and the level of support that is offered that provides you value. You will find as you progress, that the strength of your personal brand and the power of a sophisticated website that generates your own leads is really all that you require to be successful in this business.

2 Likes